Mind, Body & Me – Anne Furneaux

They say we’re controlled by the brain,
But that is part of the body
And they interact – that’s plain.

Every woman knows too well
Of the monthly ups and downs:
Without reason she’s euphoric
Then in slough of despond drowns.
(Unless that’s past or she’s “on the Pill’)
A genetic, chemical mix-up: Me?
Do I have a Soul or a mind that’s free?
And what about Free Will?

It’s tempting for men and women
To turn to drugs or drink
When looking for a quick-fix
For how they feel  and think
Or
Fall victims of persuaders
Who create a ‘must have’ need
And claim they have our good at heart.
It couldn’t be fuelled by greed?

Now, without their aid – I think –
I’m thinking about me
Thinking about me.
Are these two different mes?
And what about the me
That a me is thinking about?
It knows very well that the question is asked,
But the “How?” and the “Why” are in doubt.

So we come to the all-important “Who?”
Who am I? and right now Who are  we?
And how do we know that we both really care?
Oh, who cares?  We just know that we do.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Poetry

Leave a Reply

